During the COVID-19 response time:
The state is allowing vehicle registrations to lapse 30 days beyond the date that the state lifts the civil emergency, however re-registrations can be completed locally by e-mailing or faxing a current insurance card to the town office and then call for a price to pay by phone or by calling ahead for a price and leaving a copy of your insurance and a check in the drop box at the town office and you will be called to let you know when your new registration will be in the box for pick up (average 24 hours).
You will need to provide the following information at the time of your registration renewal:
* Proof of insurance
* Previous registration
* The current mileage of the vehicle
In processing new registrations the town is authorized to collect sales tax on sales where the tax has not already been paid and process Maine Title Applications for vehicles manufactured in 1995 and newer.
In addition to the required information listed under renewal registrations you will also need:
- The bill of sale or dealer’s certificate
- Application for Maine Title
- For a used vehicle (1995 or newer), the previous title
- For a new (not used) vehicle, the dealer’s window sticker
Individuals moving to Guilford from within the state, must, within 10 days, come to the Town Office and have an address change completed on their vehicle registration (no charge).
Individuals moving to Guilford from out of state, must, within 30 days of residency in Guilford, register their vehicles at the Town Office.
You will need to bring:
- The previous out of state registration
- The title to the vehicle if it is a 1995 or newer model
- Proof of insurance coverage as required by the State of Maine